Lynsted village contains some magnificent historic houses, but also includes modern developments. The development and location of this village is unusual for Kent, which generally favours villages on the flat with straight thoroughfares. Lynsted village tumbles incoherently down the slope below the Church of St Peter and St Paul that dates from the 12th Century and twists and turns as it does so past a series of picturesque homes dating from Tudor times such as Anchor House (now “Old House”) and onwards to Lynsted Court (or Sewards). But also includes some newer developments that have refreshed the architectural heritage of the Parish and changes in style through the twentieth century at Aymers (The Vallance), St Peters Place, Vigo Terrace (pictured below) and Batteries Close (below - that replaced 1940’s prefabricated Airey Houses). The 21st Century has been marked by the approval of further housing at the village edge that take their design, use of materials and layout from the ‘touchstones’ of the wider parish and the village in which they will sit - St.Paul’s Court is a sensitive modern development on the site of what was Stedlyn Greyhound Racetrack. Slightly further back in time is the very popular village Primary School for Lynsted and Norton.
The Church has on display a painting of the Church in c.1790. It was rediscovered in a linen-chest where it rested after being removed when the Vicarage was sold. Some in the village recollect seeing it as a regular feature in the old Vicarage. Notes on the back of the picture explain that the picture was presented in 1951 by “Mr Sales” of Birchington. Nothing is known about how or why that donation was taken - do you know anything more?
Buildings of interest for which we have some older photographs include: Forge Cottage, the Shop and Post Office, and Lynsted Court (Sewards).
Local family research: Henry Eve (Minister 1653 onwards). Stephen Back (Schoolmaster - 1861)